top of page

Jen's Reflections

Bonjour or Good Morning I should say.

We have been back in the United States for a few days now which has given us time to reflect on all that has happened the last few weeks. I have asked each of the students who I worked with in Haiti to write a little bit about their experience, though words could never do it justice.

Jen Roy is currently a junior studying Emergency Management. Here is what Jen had to say.

“My experience in the past two weeks was truly humbling and educational. Being able to submerge ourselves into Haitian culture for a short time really opened our eyes to how most of the rest of the world lives. Some parts were hard to process, but they taught me to appreciate what I have. With such a strong sense of community and family on Ile-a-Vache, I realized that people and time is more important than material things.

Worrying about potable water, shelter, or when your next meal might be didn't cross my mind as an everyday problem until I went to Haiti. I saw a lot of things I will never forget and that shaped my priorities in life, putting many things into perspective. I am thankful for every person and experience I ran across in the past two weeks. Doing something like this may not seem like a lot to you but it may mean everything to someone less well-off.”

Over the next couple of days you will hear from the rest of the team.

Talk to you soon!

Kaylene


bottom of page